Skip to content

Know Your Worth

August 18, 2012

I overheard a conversation between two young women the other day. They were talking about another girl who was making a concerted effort to “steal” the girlfriend of Girl A. Girl B told Girl A that she had better “fight for her woman.” I wanted to go over and talk to them but I knew that they would just think I was some weird woman, so I didn’t. Here is what I wanted to say:

Girl, know your worth.

Do not catfight. Do not fight over a woman. Know your worth. If you know your worth, as a woman and as a girlfriend/partner, you’ll only want a woman who freely chooses you. Wait for someone who freely chooses you. Trust me when I say that if your girlfriend wants to go elsewhere, you are better off to let her just go. Don’t “fight for your woman.” That’s a recipe for disaster, in my opinion.

If the relationship is having problems then, by all mean, fight for your relationship. By that I mean do the work that you need to do to fix things. Talk, go to counseling, whatever, but work at the relationship.

Don’t be jealous if someone is flirting with your woman, no matter how blatant the flirt. Be annoyed with the woman, tell her to step off, but don’t be jealous. Know your worth as a woman, know that your girlfriend loves you for a reason and be secure in that. If your girlfriend is flirting back, have a conversation. Talk about why she’s doing that. Is it just her basic personality to be flirty/friendly? Okay. As long as the both of you are clear that it isn’t going anywhere.

If your woman chooses to leave you for someone else? Let her go. You’re better off without her. I promise you, you are better off without her. You will be sad, for sure. I’m not gonna lie, it will hurt. You will meet someone at some point who ALSO knows your worth. In the long run, you are better off waiting for someone who loves you, who shares your values and who wants the same things you do.

There are times when it doesn’t seem like it’s worth the wait, but it is. I promise you, it is. Because you keep your self-respect and your integrity. Without those things, you can’t have a healthy relationship anyway.

So tell me, pumpkins: do you know YOUR worth? Do you feel confident that you are an amazing woman who someone would be lucky to love?

From → Misc.

2 Comments
  1. Absolutely. And I’m grateful for her every day :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

